25 October 2010

Discombobulation

There I was, sitting down at my desk with Kanye West's "Runaway" before me. The first thing that crossed my mind was "this is 34 minutes long, and there is no chance I'm watching all of it. Sorry Kanye, I don't like you that much". Oddly enough, once I started watching, I couldn't stop; it felt like some kind of bizarre romance.

By the time I finished the movie, all I felt was confusion. I felt like someone flipped my brain upside down. Never have I watched a movie and felt indecisiveness of such magnitude. My friends asked me what I thought of it, and I was (and still am) at a loss. Runaway is indescribable, you're just going to have to see for yourself.

The only thing I can say about Runaway is that Kanye is deserving of my respect. I'm not crazy about his music in general, but he has this nonchalant stride through the industry that says "I'm going to do whatever the hell I want and you can't stop me," and I feel that entitles him to some acknowledgement. His lyrics are blunt/vulgar in a peculiarly intelligent way, and his imagery is controversial and insane, but in the end Kanye is making a statement, which is exactly what he set out to do.

If you haven't watched Runaway, here's the link:

http://www.vevo.com/watch/kanye-west/runaway-full-length-film/USUV71002509

Stay classy

2 comments:

  1. I am considering adding this movie to my playlist.

    What you describe about Kanye makes him respectable in my book. I'm not at all familiar with the guy, but anyone who can be himself without having to care what other people think is a pretty cool dude.

    ReplyDelete
  2. My thoughts exactly. I'd definitely recommend you to watch it

    ReplyDelete