29 November 2009

Some dreams are attainable

Okay, so you guys want to know what one of my dreams is?


This:
 
Yup.

Okay, I guess I should elaborate.  I have created a list of things that are appealing to me in this picture:

1)  The lovely lady in the photograph is a redhead.  Anyone who knows me personally knows that I've got a thing for the crimson locks.  So automatically, this picture appeals to me.  The fact that her hair is one of my favorite colors is not the only thing that appeals to me however...

2)  She is a fan of football.  This is a definite upside to me.  I find that being able to enjoy some kind of similar interest is very desirable.  It just creates a strong sense of compatibility, which is refreshing.

3)  She is a fan of football, but more importantly, she is NOT a fan of the New England Patriots.  Okay, this is huge for me.  Now, not only does she share a similar interest in the first place, but she also has the same viewpoint as me, in that she roots against my team's biggest rival.  Now I can't say for sure that she's a Jets fan like myself, but the possibility is there, and cannot be ignored.

Okay, so I know you're asking yourself, what is the point of this post?  Well, I'm not putting this up just because I'm in a different mood than usual - this still pertains to the way I think.  I'll explain.

A few weeks ago, I found myself pondering on what it would be like to share an intimate moment after some kind of victorious event, "Victory Sex," if you will.  Picture the following scenario: you are watching a sporting event with a significant other who is as enthusiastic as you are, shares your fandom of a particular team, and upon said team's triumph over their opponent, the two of you share a moment of intimacy to celebrate.

I can't really fathom what that's like, but I'm sure it would be amazing.  It doesn't even have to be sports.  You could celebrate with sex after surmounting any kind of personal obstacle.  What's important is that feeling of triumph, to me it seems like it would seem very euphoric, and so, it has become a personal goal of mine to engage in victory sex at least once in my life.

So the real question is, why is this so appealing to me?  Why do I have such a burning desire to achieve this goal?  I think it lies in my inability to comprehend what the event would be like.  I have never experienced it firsthand, so I can only leave it up to my imagination, which can only go so far.  My imagination cannot fabricate the senses of touch, taste, smell, etc.  So really, what I'm left with is this nagging feeling that I need to go out and complete a task, otherwise I'll go on living my life with this incessant thought picking away at my brain, until my curiosity gets the better of me - which it will.

The unknown is just begging to be traversed, and I'm not one to let adventure pass me by.  This mystery will be unraveled, and every other mystery that I come across.  I don't enjoy leaving loose ends all over the place, and so I'm going to do everything in my power to fulfill every desire that wells up inside me during my lifetime.  I mean hey, if I don't, then I'm not really living my life to the fullest, now am I?

Over the weekend, I visited my brother's house.  The people who lived in the house prior to my brother wrote all manner of sayings and quotes in his bathroom.  On the ceiling were the following words:
Live the life of a legend.
How inspirational.  I can't think of a better thing to be on your mind when you're relieving yourself.  Just think, as soon as you're finished with your business, you are going to leave your bathroom and seek apotheosis.  Glory is yours, all you need to do is seek it.  Live your life, the life of a legend.

So now it's question time,

What is one of your personal goals?

It has to be attainable, and not typical like "I want to be successful" or "I want to get married".  I want a goal that feels more... real.  If you read this post, you should have an idea of what I mean.  Go now, my wayward travelers, and seek out that which is your life.

Stay frosty

11 November 2009

You are a fool

Okay, I want to offer everyone a little advice:  People have no idea what they're talking about.


I'm sorry, it's true.  Sure, when people give you advice, you can actively interpret it and use it to your advantage, but that isn't always the case.  One time in particular sticks out in my head, where I knew this kid who would give me advice when it came to working out.  I used to gobble up everything he told me, because I had no clue what I was doing at the time.  Only after doing my own research for months did I realize that he actually had no clue what he was talking about. 


So there I was, a very influential young man, mindlessly taking in every piece of information that everyone gave me.  I'd like to think I was opinionated, but truth be told, I probably wasn't.  Even in the media, of all the propaganda that saturates the press, I never questioned any of it.  You see, that's where the problem lies.  We need to question all the information that people feed us, otherwise we're nothing but mindless drones.  Do your own independent research, and when someone contradicts you, don't back down and believe them simply because they made a good point, tell them that you'll get back to them, and go do more research to see if they're right.


I don't know why I'm in the mood I'm in right now to be honest.  I guess I'm just upset that I just realized how un-opinionated I used to be.  I know now in my life that there's some people who I hang out with that I simply cannot take any piece of advice they give me with any conviction.  This is not to say that they aren't good friends of mine or I look down on them in any way - I just know from experience that their beliefs do not coincide with my own, and I should just take whatever they tell me with a grain of salt.  This goes for everything from religious beliefs all the way down to tastes in movies and music.  There are just some people in the world who aren't on the same page as you.


I guess what I'm trying to say is that I want you to be objective.  Question things.  Don't believe every bit of advice that is given to you.  Formulate your own opinions!

This is all scrambled and I can't tell if it's a rant or not, so that means I'm done.


How often do you come up with your own opinions?


Think about that.  When was the last time you had an opinion that wasn't the direct result of someone else's opinion?


Until next time, stay frosty

With these hands that will not bleed

What are you afraid of?  It doesn't have to be death, or being alone, or things of that magnitude, and it doesn't have to be spiders, or snakes, or things of that nature.

Tell me what you are afraid of, something that really resonates with you.  Don't know how to answer?  Let me give you an example:

I am afraid to loose the ability to use my hands. 

What do I mean by that?  Well, I express myself through my hands a lot and to me, they are part of my character.  I express creativity, excitement, and intimacy with my hands, and I can't imagine living without them.

I should specify that when I say that I'm afraid to loose the ability to use my hands, I don't necessarily mean that I'm afraid that one day I'll become disabled or paralyzed.  I'm afraid of not being able to use them acutely.  You see, as a bank teller, I've dealt with several hundred people a day, and over the years I've noticed that a lot of people are extremely clumsy with their hands.  They fumble pens around, they can't unroll their cash/deposit slips, and they can't grab onto the receipts that I hand them.  It's not only just really old people either - Whenever I've witnessed this, most of the time the people I'm dealing with are in the 30-50 range in terms of age.

I can't say for sure why these people have such difficulty using their hands, but if I had to venture a guess, it's probably because they've worked in construction or some other occupation which exposes one's hands to a lot of punishment.

I don't work in construction, nor do I plan to, so why am I scared?  I'm not really sure to be honest, but I guess the possibility is always looming over me, and it scares me that someday I could be that 30-50 year old at the bank who can't fit his fingers around a pen.  My hands have always been really soft, and I just can't seem to fathom what my life would be like if that were changed.

Sometimes it's the little things in life that you have to think about which make you really understand who you are.  I do so love picking out the little things, and to me this is one of those things.

So again, I ask,

What are you afraid of?